The Farm

A Way of Life

Humminghill Farm is a place for developing a sustainable art of living based on respect for resources, permaculture, LEED construction methods, and agricultural production governed by agroecology and its transformation.

But even more, it is the celebration of 'slow living'... The farm anchors us in the present moment, reconnects us with nature, and transports us to a reality completely different from our daily lives, allowing us to live with the rhythm of the seasons.

The Ecosystem

A farm is an ecosystem that must be balanced by complementary productions. Flowers need pollinators, therefore beehives, hens generate excellent manure in addition to feeding on garden scraps and giving us fresh eggs, the forest provides us with firewood, construction wood and maple sap. The vegetable garden feeds us and produces seeds for years to come… In short, all this keeps us busy and feeds our souls as much as our bodies!

Flower Bouquets

We grow dahlias, zinnias, cosmos, sunflowers, and sweet peas on the farm, which we use to make bouquets sold as a subscription and distributed locally. Our flowers are grown without chemical fertilisers or pesticides. They offer a rich and fertile contribution to our bees and other pollinators as well as happiness for our customers!

Subscriptions of 10 weekly bouquets (delivered on Fridays at 5 p.m. at the Virgin Hill Coffee roastery on Lakeside Road) are available in limited quantities during the summer. For more information, contact us!

Vinegars

We make four varieties of flavoured vinegars on the farm. This artisanal production is our way of sharing the happiness we experience on the farm and encapsulating its essence. The cultivation of the ingredients of our vinegars also allows us to gradually rehabilitate the fields that were left abandoned over the last decades.

The selling of our vinegars through a specialised distribution network has given us the privilege to forge connections with a multitude of enthusiasts who have become our ambassadors… and our friends!

Our Community

We have been a member of the Bolton West Collective since 2016. The Bolton West Collective is an association of owners, producers and consumers —bringing together 36 member properties on an area of nearly 1750 ha (4000 acres)— which aims to promote agricultural and forest use of the territory. The Collective supports the development of a sustainable and resilient ecosystem through local productions.

It is with the help of the Collective and by benefiting from the contribution of its many consultants that we were able to set up this project without making too many mistakes!

What's Next?

Whether it is the development of the maple grove and the construction of our sugar shack, the continuation of the rehabilitation of our fields, the restoration of Mrs. Benson's English gardens, the development of the forest, or the reconstruction of the main house: there is no shortage of projects at Humminghill Farm. They are the canvas of a life, of our life…

Thank you for your interest and your support in this adventure!

Maxime & Richard

We invite you to follow us on our Instagram and Facebook pages.

From the farm

View our products

Retailers

View our retailers
Canada (CAD $)
EN
English

La ferme

Un art de vivre

La Ferme Humminghill est un lieu de développement d’un art de vivre durable axé sur le respect des ressources, la permaculture, les méthodes de construction LEED, la production agricole en régie agroécologique et sa transformation.

Mais plus encore, c’est la célébration du ‘slow living’… La ferme nous ancre dans le moment présent, nous reconnecte avec la nature, et nous transporte dans une réalité complètement différente de notre quotidien nous permettant de vivre au rythme des saisons.

L'écosystème

Une ferme est un écosystème qui doit s’équilibrer par des productions complémentaires. Les fleurs ont besoin de pollinisateurs, donc de ruches, les poules génèrent un excellent fumier en plus de se nourrir des rejets du potager et nous donner des œufs frais, la forêt nous fournit en bois de chauffage, en bois de construction et en eau d’érable. Le potager nous nourrit et produit des semences pour les années à venir… Bref, tout ceci nous garde bien occupés et alimente notre esprit autant que notre corps!

Des bouquets de fleurs

Nous cultivons à la ferme des dahlias, zinnias, cosmos, tournesols, et pois de senteur que nous utilisons dans la confection de bouquets vendus par abonnement et distribués localement. Nos fleurs sont cultivées sans engrais chimique ni pesticides. Elles offrent un apport riche et fertile à nos abeilles et autres pollinisateurs tout comme du bonheur pour notre clientèle!

Des abonnements de 10 bouquets hebdomadaires livrés le vendredi à 17h à la Brûlerie Virgin Hill Coffee du chemin Lakeside sont disponibles en quantité limitée durant l’été. Pour plus d’information contactez-nous!

Des vinaigres

Nous fabriquons à la ferme 4 variétés de vinaigres aromatisés. Cette production artisanale est notre façon de partager le bonheur à la ferme et d’en encapsuler l’essence. La culture des intrants de nos vinaigres nous permet également de réhabiliter progressivement les champs laissés à l’abandon au fil des dernières décennies.

La commercialisation de nos vinaigres à travers un réseau de distribution spécialisé tisse des liens privilégiés avec une multitude de passionnés qui deviennent nos ambassadeurs… et nos amis!

Notre communauté

Nous sommes membre du collectif de Bolton Ouest depuis 2016. Le Collectif de Bolton-Ouest est une association de propriétaires, de producteurs et de consommateurs regroupant 36 propriétés membres sur une surface de près de 1750 ha (4000 acres) qui vise la valorisation agricole et forestière du territoire. Le Collectif soutient le développement d’un écosystème durable et résilient par le biais de productions locales.

C’est avec l’aide du collectif et en bénéficiant de la contribution de ses multiples consultants que nous avons pu mettre ce projet sur pied sans faire trop d’erreurs!

Et la suite?

Que ce soit l’aménagement de l’érablière et la construction de notre cabane à sucre, la poursuite de la réhabilitation de nos champs, la restauration des jardins anglais de Madame Benson, l’aménagement de la forêt, ou la reconstruction de la maison principale; les projets ne manquent pas à la Ferme Humminghill. C’est le projet d’une vie, de notre vie…

Merci de votre intérêt et de votre soutien dans dans cette aventure!

Maxime & Richard

Nous vous invitons à nous suivre dans nos aventures sur nos pages Instagram et Facebook.

Produits de la ferme

Voir nos produits

Points de vente

Voir nos points de vente
Canada (CAD $)
FR
Français