Artisans

The creators behind the collections
Robin Badger & Robert Chartier

Robin Badger & Robert Chartier

After meeting, while studying pottery in Old Montreal at the Centre de Céramique Bonsecours, Robin Badger & Robert Chartier opened the Down to Earth Pottery studio in 1995. The studio showcases the work of both very different clay artists. Situated on a 100-acre family farm in the mountains of the Eastern Townships, the studio is an oasis of peace and tranquillity in today’s busy world. They strive to create pieces that are a joy to use as well as to look at. They feel that a beautiful piece of pottery can add a quiet and subtle joy to everyday life. Using beautiful objects to prepare and serve the food we eat enhances this daily ritual.

Learn More
Robert Badger

L'Atelier EM

Émilie from L’Atelier EM creates from her workshop, adjacent to the family home in Lac-Brome. This space is her sanctuary and often one of her little children joins her in the creating process. She has a sleek and minimalist aesthetic, and her pieces are made with care and a lot of respect for traditional pottery techniques. Each piece she makes is completely handmade and therefore unique.

Learn More
Boutiverre

Boutiverre

Caroline, from l’atelier Boutiverre, has been blowing glass for over 15 years. After obtaining a DEC in glass art at Cégep du Vieux-Montréal, she did an apprenticeship in New Zealand, and quickly made the switch to recycled glass, a material that is totally in line with her philosophy of sustainable development. She breathes new life into bottles by transforming them into new objects with simple shapes to which she adds texture with natural materials such as water and wood ash. The resulting product is warm, and fits into both modern and rural settings. In 2015 she set up her workshop-boutique in the heart of the village of Lac Brome in the Eastern Townships. She welcomes people who are curious and sensitive to art, who wish to acquire unique items, handcrafted and tailor-made with care.

Learn More
Atelier Bussière

Atelier Bussière

Natural stone is the original inspiration at Atelier Bussière. They make unique objects and furniture in noble materials that will last a lifetime. Each of their products is made with care and rigour. Their workshop is located in the heart of the Quebec Appalachians, in the municipality of Lac-Drolet, in the Eastern Townships. They are a small team of three individuals, passionate about stonework and design. Their natural stone pieces are their pride, and the result of a sustained collaboration, innovative ideas and determination.

Learn More
La Compagnie Robinson

La Compagnie Robinson

Patrice, the artisan behind The Robinson Company creates timeless, minimalist and durable objects to be handed down from generation to generation. He believes that the sentimental value an object carries when it is handed down and becomes a family heirloom is priceless. He works with leather that is ethically sourced and vegetable tanned; always putting quality and durability at the centre of what he does. Their products not only hold up to the test of time but also gain in character and increase in beauty.

Learn More
Marc-Antoine Dorval

Marc-Antoine Dorval

Woodworker by trade, Marc-Antoine Dorval discovered his passion for pottery in 2018 and has since dedicated all of his time to it. Newly located in the village of Racine, in the Eastern Townships, he creates useful and decorative objects. His work is primarily engrained in a willingness for the object to reveal the passage of the artisan, but also to leave as much room as possible for the raw material: earth. His work reflects an evolving understanding that gets more and more precise with his explorations.

Learn More
Atelier Forma

Atelier Forma

Montreal based ceramist, Bojana Kolarevic, has been honing her skills in ceramics since 2012. She is the founder of Atelier Forma ceramic studio, which is a place destined to bring together Montreal’s ceramic and artisan community. Originally an Interior Designer, Bojana has merged her passion for ceramics with her design practice. Her preferred medium is black stoneware, often left unglazed to reveal the raw qualities of the clay. Its dark element is balanced with tones of white satin glaze. Bojana draws her inspiration from the sudden body movements reflected in her work, which is unrefined and open to interpretation.

Learn More
Littledeer

Littledeer

In 1984, Tom Littledeer submitted the hypothesis that a curved, spoon-like canoe paddle would make the action of paddling easier. He therefore created and tested a variety of different models of paddles with Olympic canoeists as well as with the National Research Council of Canada. Tom made a series of miniature paddles as promotional items for the launch. These were proclaimed by his mother as "naj bolje za kuhati" (perfect for cooking in Croatian). These first paddles therefore became the Pot Scoop - the first wooden spoon designed specifically not to split. Tom Littledeer has created and built many things from his studio in Candiac over time, however his Gourmet Paddles remain what he is best-known for.

Learn More
Le Point Visible

Le point visible

Marilyn was raised by her grandmother and her aunts, all of whom were seamstresses. In their household, every moment could become an excuse to take out the needle and thread. Over the years, home became a place of exploration of materials, textures and colors.

In 2017, after moving to the Eastern Townships, Marilyn met France Verrier, an experienced quilter from the Cercle des Fermières de Cowansville organisation. It was from this meeting that sparked Marilyn's passion for the art of quilting. This artisanal method resonated both with her personal history and her values. Today, Marilyn strives to promote this cultural heritage traditionally practised by women in Quebec and to grant greater visibility to this art that has long been overlooked.

Learn More
Dacat

Dacat

DACAT STUDIO was founded in 2014 in Montreal by Daniela Tudor. With a background in Furniture design and manufacture, Daniela spent several years developing new products and prototypes. The studio team, now made up of several artists from various backgrounds passionate about working with wood and textiles, focuses on creating products and objects for interiors, mainly for private clients.

Learn More
Les filles du coin

Les filles du coin

Les filles du coin is a warm and dynamic place where three ladies from Knowlton, in the Eastern Townships of Quebec, Anne Piché, Dominique Mackay and Renée Beaulne, express their creativity and talent in a fun environment. Graphic designer, artist, buyer, weaver, seamstress, window dresser and shopkeeper, the common thread of the workshop/boutique is always the desire to energise each other and share their passion. They create durable heirloom pieces that will last a long time. According to them, in a mass production world, in which originality is a rare commodity, artisan work and revalorization of an ancestral know-how is the way to go about things.

Learn More
Valérie Pelletier

Valérie Pelletier

Valérie’s work evokes simplicity, sobriety in the shapes she works with and her sleek aesthetic. All her collections are complementary, timeless and stand out with their pale blue glaze. The blue brings depth to pieces with its shine and clear look highlighting the interesting contrast between the natural aspect of naked clay and the shine of the glaze. With precise attention to technique, Valérie wishes to preserve the human touch behind the handmade artisan work. She wants to touch people through her sensitive and tactile clay works.

Learn More

Curators

Richard and Maxime have always had this desire to help artisans with regard to creation, highlighting their work and marketing. The collection is therefore presented under the Ferme Humminghill brand, features each of the collaborating craftsmen, which will allow Internet users to meet them virtually. The approach mainly aims to:

  • Publicise the work of craftsmen by offering them the platform and increased visibility of the Ensembliers. The site is designed to put the craftsman in the foreground.
  • Create a transactional site allowing the customers of Ensembliers, and professionals in the field to buy their creations here. This also makes it possible to meet part of the supply needs for objects for the decor of the Ensembliers while consolidating local purchasing synergies.
  • Support artisans by purchasing inventory in advance (no drop shipping) and offering them business mentoring to enhance their product.
  • Develop a creative relationship by allowing the craftsman to express their art by collaborating with designers to produce unique collections.
  • Expand the customers of the Ensembliers by offering the object as a means of entering their creative universe.
  • Promote the local producers in Canada and the United States.
Maxime Vandal et Richard Ouellette
Canada (CAD $)
EN
English

Artisans

Les créateurs derrière les collections
Robin Badger & Robert Chartier

Robin Badger & Robert Chartier

Après s’être rencontrés alors qu’ils étudiaient tous les deux la poterie dans le Vieux-Montréal au Centre de Céramique Bonsecours, Robin Badger et Robert Chartier ont ouvert le studio de poterie Down to Earth Pottery en 1995. Le studio met en lumière le travail de ces deux artisans de la terre très différents. Situé sur la terre familiale de 100 acres dans les montagnes des Cantons-de-l’Est, le studio est une véritable oasis de paix et de tranquillité dans le monde occupé d’aujourd’hui. Le couple crée des pièces qui sont un plaisir à utiliser et à regarder. Utiliser de beaux objets pour préparer et servir la nourriture que l’on mange enrichit ce rituel quotidien.

En savoir plus
Robert Badger

L'Atelier EM

Émilie Dion de l’Atelier EM crée depuis son atelier qui est annexé à la maison familiale à Lac-Brome. Ce lieu est son sanctuaire et plus souvent qu’autrement, une ou plusieurs petites âmes se joignent à elle dans le processus de création. Son esthétique est minimaliste et épurée et ses pièces sont faites avec un grand respect pour les techniques traditionnelles de poterie. Chacune de ses pièces est entièrement faite à la main et donc, unique.

En savoir plus
Boutiverre

Boutiverre

Caroline, de l’atelier Boutiverre, souffle le verre depuis plus de 15 ans. Après avoir obtenu son DEC en Verre au Cégep du Vieux-Montréal, elle a fait un stage en Nouvelle-Zélande puis s’est réorientée vers le verre recyclé, un matériau parfaitement aligné avec sa vision du développement durable. Elle donne un nouveau souffle aux bouteilles en les transformant en de nouveaux objets aux lignes simples auxquels elle ajoute de la texture à l’aide de matières naturelles comme l’eau et la cendre. Le produit final est chaleureux et trouve sa place aussi bien dans les environnements modernes que ruraux. En 2015, elle établit son atelier-boutique au cœur du village de Knowlton dans les Cantons-de-l’Est. Depuis, elle accueille les curieux et les amoureux de l’art qui voudraient se procurer des items uniques, faits à la main et sur mesure avec soin.

En savoir plus
Atelier Bussière

Atelier Bussière

La pierre naturelle est l’inspiration première d’Atelier Bussière. Ils fabriquent des objets et du mobilier avec des matériaux nobles conçus pour durer toute une vie. Chacun de leurs produits sont faits avec soin et rigueur. L’atelier est situé au cœur des Appalaches du Québec à Lac-Drolet dans les Cantons-de-l’Est. Atelier Bussière est une petite équipe de trois passionnés de maçonnerie et de design. Leurs pièces en pierre naturelle sont leur fierté et le résultat d’une collaboration soutenue, d’idées innovantes et de détermination.

En savoir plus
La Compagnie Robinson

La Compagnie Robinson

Patrice Robinson, l’artisan derrière La Compagnie Robinson crée des objets intemporels, minimalistes et durables, destinés à être passés d’une génération à l’autre. Il croit en la valeur sentimentale et incalculable qu’un objet gagne lorsqu’il devient un héritage familial. La compagnie travaille à partir d’un cuir éthique au tannage végétal qui met la qualité et la durabilité au centre de ce qu’elle fait. Ses objets en cuir sont à l’épreuve du temps et gagnent en caractère avec les années.

En savoir plus
Marc-Antoine Dorval

Marc-Antoine Dorval

Ébéniste de formation, Marc-Antoine Dorval a découvert le travail de l’argile en 2018 et s’y consacre à temps plein maintenant. Nouvellement installé dans le village de Racine, dans les Cantons-de-l’Est, il y fabrique des objets utilitaires et décoratifs. Son travail s’inscrit d’abord dans la volonté de permettre à l’objet de révéler les gestes et les traces laissées par l’artisan, mais aussi dans un souci d’accorder le plus d’espace possible à la matière première: la terre. Son exercice témoigne d'une compréhension qui évolue et qui se détaille au fil de ses explorations.

En savoir plus
Atelier Forma

Atelier Forma

La céramiste montréalaise Bojana Kolarevic perfectionne ses compétences en céramique depuis 2012.  Elle est la fondatrice du studio de céramique Atelier Forma, qui se veut un lieu rassembleur pour la communauté de céramistes et artisans de Montréal.  Initialement designer d’intérieur, Bojana a fusionné sa passion pour la céramique avec sa pratique du design.  Son médium préféré est l’argile noire, souvent laissée sans émail afin de révéler la beauté naturelle de cette dernière. L’aspect sombre de l’argile est souvent équilibré avec des tons de glaçure blanche satinée.  Bojana puise son inspiration dans les mouvements brusques du corps, qui se retrouvent dans l’aspect brut de son travail et laisse libre cours à l’interprétation.

En savoir plus
Littledeer

Littledeer

En 1984, Tom Littledeer a émis l'hypothèse qu'une pagaie de canoë incurvée en forme de cuillère faciliterait l’action de pagayer. Il a donc créé et testé une variété de modèles différents de pagaies avec des canoéistes olympiques ainsi qu'avec le Conseil national de recherches du Canada. Tom a fabriqué une série de pagaies miniatures comme articles promotionnels pour le lancement. Ceux-ci ont été proclamés par sa mère "naj bolje za kuhati" (parfait pour cuisiner en croate). Ces premières pagaies sont donc devenues le Pot Scoop - la première cuillère en bois conçue spécifiquement pour ne pas se fendre. C’est ainsi que Tom Littledeer a créé et construit à partir de son atelier à Candiac une multitude de choses au fil du temps, cependant ses produits Gourmet Paddles demeurent ce pour quoi il est le plus connu.

En savoir plus
Le Point Visible

Le point visible

Marilyn Armand a grandi avec sa grand-mère et ses tantes, qui ont su lui transmettre leur passion pour la couture. Dans cette maisonnée, chaque instant se transformait en prétexte pour sortir le fil et l’aiguille. Au fil des ans, le nid familial est devenu un lieu de transmission et d’exploration des matières, des textures et des couleurs.

En 2017, après avoir déménagé à Bedford dans les Cantons-de-l’Est, Marilyn rencontre France Verrier, maître dans l’art de la courtepointe et membre du Cercle des fermières de Cowansville. C’est lors de cette rencontre que Marilyn découvre son amour pour l’art de la courtepointe. Cette méthode artisanale résonnait autant avec son histoire personnelle qu’avec ses valeurs. Aujourd’hui, Marilyn souhaite faire rayonner ce patrimoine culturel, traditionnellement pratiqué par les femmes du Québec, et valoriser ce travail qui a trop longtemps été dans l’ombre.

En savoir plus
Dacat

Dacat

DACAT STUDIO a été fondé en 2014 à Montréal par Daniela Tudor. Avec une formation en conception et fabrication de meubles, Daniela a passé plusieurs années à développer de nouveaux produits et prototypes. L'équipe du studio, aujourd'hui composée de plusieurs artistes d'horizons divers passionnés par le travail du bois et du textile, se concentre sur la création de produits et d'objets pour l'intérieur, principalement pour des particuliers.

En savoir plus
Les filles du coin

Les filles du coin

Les filles du coin, c’est un espace chaleureux et dynamique où trois filles de Knowlton, dans les Cantons-de-l’Est, Anne Piché, Dominique Mackay et Renée Beaulne, expriment leur créativité et leurs talents dans le plaisir. Tantôt designer graphique, artiste, acheteuse, tisserande, couturière, étalagiste et commerçante, le fil conducteur de l’atelier-boutique est toujours le désir de se dynamiser ensemble et de partager leurs passions. Elles créent des pièces d’héritage durables qui seront utilisées longtemps. Selon elles, dans un monde de production de masse où l’originalité se fait rare, le travail des artisans et la revalorisation d’un savoir-faire ancestral est tout désigné.

En savoir plus
Valérie Pelletier

Valérie Pelletier

Le travail de Valérie Pelletier évoque la simplicité et la sobriété par les formes qu’elle choisit et son esthétique épurée. Toutes ses collections sont complémentaires, intemporelles et elles se distinguent par leur émail bleu pâle. Le bleu apporte une profondeur aux pièces par sa brillance et sa transparence en plus de souligner le contraste intéressant entre le côté naturel de la terre nue et l’émail plutôt brillant. Portant une attention particulière à la technique, Valérie souhaite conserver la trace de l'humain derrière le travail artisanal fait à la main. Elle veut toucher les gens en leur transmettant, à travers la céramique, la sensibilité et le plaisir que le travail de l’argile évoque en elle.

En savoir plus

Curateurs

Ils ont toujours eu ce désir d’aider les artisans en ce qui a trait à la création, à la mise en valeur de leur travail et à la mise en marché. La collection est donc présentée sous la marque Ferme Humminghill. Elle met en vedette chacun des artisans collaborateurs, ce qui permettra aux internautes de les rencontrer virtuellement sur le site transactionnel. La démarche vise principalement à:

  • Faire connaître le travail des artisans en leur offrant la plateforme et accroître la visibilité des Ensembliers. Le site est conçu pour mettre l’artisan en avant-plan.
  • Créer un site transactionnel permettant au public, aux clients des Ensembliers, et aux professionnels du milieu d’y acheter les créations. Cela permet de répondre aussi à une partie des besoins d’approvisionnement en objets pour les décors des Ensembliers tout en consolidant les synergies d’achat local.
  • Soutenir les artisans par l’achat d’avance des inventaires (aucun drop shipping) et en leur offrant un mentorat d’affaires pour valoriser leur produit.
  • Développer une relation créative en permettant à l’artisan d’exprimer son art en collaborant avec des designers à la réalisation de séries uniques.
  • Élargir la clientèle des Ensembliers en offrant l’objet comme moyen d’entrer dans leur univers créatif.
  • Faire rayonner le savoir-faire d’ici au Canada et aux États-Unis.
Maxime Vandal et Richard Ouellette
Canada (CAD $)
FR
Français